Home » Who's Who?

Who's Who?

Members of Chapter

The Dean - The Very Reverend Mark Boyling

The Canon Warden- The Reverend Canon Janet Kearton

The Canon Missioner - The Reverend Canon Michael Manley

The Archdeacon of Carlisle - The Venerable Kevin Roberts

Lay Member of Chapter - Canon James Westoll

Lay Member of Chapter - Canon Alex Barbour

Lay member of Chapter - Canon Bryan Gray

The Chapter Clerk - Mr Ian Burns

The Cathedral Council

The Chairman - Mr James Spedding

The Dean - The Very Revd Mark Boyling

Two members of the Cathedral Chapter - The Revd Jan Kearton, Canon James Westoll

Two members of the College of Canons -The Venerable Penny Driver, The Revd Canon David Fowler

Four lay persons elected from the Cathedral Roll - Mr William Cook, Miss Susan Johnston, Mr Martin Reeves, Dr Henry Howard

Eight other persons appointed by the Bishop and the Bishop's Council - Prof. Liz Beaty, Mrs Julia Aglionby, Miss Sheila Goodliffe, Mr Rod Coy, Mr Charles Dunn, Lord Inglewood, The Revd David Crouchley, one vacancy.

Members of the Cathedral Council can be contacted via the Cathedral Office.

Music Department

Master of the Music - Jeremy Suter

Assistant Organist - Edward Taylor

Organ Scholar - Max Smith

Music Department Administrator - vacant

Vocal coach - Charlotte Jackson

Further information

Vergers Department

Head Verger - James Armstrong

Assistant Verger - Jenny Alexander

Assistant Verger - John Cheal

Further information

Buildings and Fabric

Surveyor of the Fabric - Nick Rank

Head of Maintenance - Vic Green

Assistant to the Head of Maintenance - Ian Ellison


Bursar and Chapter Clerk - Ian Burns

PA to the Bursar and Chapter Clerk - Ruth Shingler

PA to the Dean - Karen Nattrass

Commercial & Administration Co-ordinator - Wendy Murrell

Administration Assistant - Anna Howard

Administration Assistant - Christine Waugh

Accounts Clerk - Judy Ward

Prior’s Kitchen Restaurant

Manageress - Susan Brown

Poet in Residence

Complementing our acknowledgement of ‘The Arts’ as gifts from God, we can now boast our own Poet in Residence.  Charged with exploring the various aspects of life at the cathedral, the poet takes up a residence of 12 months, in the hope of being able to reflect something back to our community in ‘The Word made ink’.

The Poet for 2012 -2013 is Martyn Halsall, a former Guardian journalist, Diocesan Communications Officer, Poetry Editor and present published poet from Bridekirk near Cockermouth. Martyn can often be seen sitting in the cathedral, wandering the grounds or chatting to people, listening for the voice of the living God, as he seeks to convey it in words and sound.


In partnership with Canon Geoff Smith from Warwick Bridge, (another published poet) ; Martyn has also facilitated a monthly poetry and discussion group at the cathedral called ‘Magazine’. Here, great poets as well as personal contributions are heard and explored ; some members bringing their own poems, others simply enjoying listening. The group is free, and all are welcome (please see the calendar for meeting dates).