Worship & Spirituality » Music » Carlisle Cantate

Carlisle Cantate

Carlisle Cantate Childrens Choir

Carlisle Cantate Childrens Choir is the Cathedral’s community choir for 7-14 year olds. It forms part of Singing Out, the Cathedral Outreach Programme. The choir sings a variety of music in a fun and relaxed atmosphere and rehearses on Thursday evenings from 6.15 - 7.30pm in the Cathedral Fratry.

Young people are provided with the opportunity to enjoy singing together and to perform on several occasions during the year.  In the forthcoming academic year (2016-17) the choir will be singing at various venues in Carlisle, including in a care home, in the Cathedral and at a competition, as well as further afield including a concert in Keswick with Keswick Choral Society.

The choir is directed by Edward Taylor (the assistant organist). The choir sings a varied repertoire across many genres of music including jazz, classical children’ songs, musicals, popular and folk. Sometimes the choir sings in several parts at the same time. A mentoring system is also in operation which provides assistance from the older members of the choir for the younger ones.

Carlisle Cantate is always ready to welcome new members and for enquiries please contact Edward Taylor: edwardtaylor.organist@yahoo.co.uk Tel: 01228 547916.

Click here for the February 2016 article about Cantate in the Cumberland News.

Forthcoming events

Autumn Term 2016:

Sunday 2 October, 10.30am Plus Eucharist (Cathedral)

Thursday 6 October,  Performance at Pennine Lodge

Tuesday 6 December, 6.15pm Outreach Concert (Cathedral)

Thursday 8 December, Performance at Pennine Lodge

Thursday 15 December, 6.30 - 7.30pm Carol Singing at the Lanes Shopping Centre

Thursday 22 December, 9.30 - 11am Rehearsal for the Crib Service

Christmas Eve, 3pm Crib Service (Cathedral)

Spring Term 2017:

Sunday 26 February, 10.30am Plus Eucharist (Cathedral)

Tuesday 17 March, Music Competition (details tbc)

Thursday 30 March, 6.15pm Outreach Concert (Cathedral)

Summer Term 2017:

Sunday 2 April, 10.30am Plus Eucharist (Cathedral)

Saturday 6 May, Concert with Keswick Choral Society and visit to Keswick Leisure Centre

Thursday 6 July, Outreach Concert (Cathedral)